Agnes Holzman (1863 - 1942)

Agnes Holzman, née Priebatsch, was born in Breslau on 15 July 1863 to a family of booksellers. In 1885 she married the district judge Julius Holzman, with whom she had the sons Walter (1887-1918) and Max (1989-1941). The family lived first in Obornik, from 1905 in Posen. Agnes Holzman's son Walter was killed in action in 1918, her husband died in the same year. In 1920 she left Posen and moved to Magdeburg to live with her sister Wally Wertheim.

In 1923 Agnes Holzman chose Jena as her place of residence, where she lived a secluded life as a lodger in the house of Margarete Czapski at Forstweg 23. Margarete Czapski (1866-1949), the mother-in-law of her son Max and the widow of Abbe's successor Siegfried Czapski (1861-1907), was highly respected in Jena. Her courageous appearance prevented the planned arrest and deportation of Agnes Holzman in 1938. She was also able to successfully reject the termination of the old woman's right of residence demanded by the municipal authorities.

In July 1941 Agnes Holzman's son Max and in October 1941 her granddaughter Marie were murdered in Lithuania. In order to spare her, her relatives concealed this news from her. Finally, on September 20, 1942, the 79-year-old woman was deported to Theresienstadt. Here she died only a short time later on December 4. Her sister Wally took her own life in 1943 before the threat of deportation.

The Stolperstein for Agnes Holzman was placed on 23 May 2007 at Forstweg 23 (initiative of the Jenaer Arbeitskreis Judentum).

Metallplatte mit Inschrift im Boden inmitten von Pflastersteinen eingelassen, daneben zwei rote Gerbera
Stolperstein für Agnes Holzman am Forstweg 23

Stumbling block Agnes Holzman

Stumbling block Agnes Holzman

Forstweg 23
07745 Jena
Germany

Stumbling block Agnes Holzman

Forstweg 23
07745 Jena
Germany

Agnes Holzman (1863 - 1942)

Agnes Holzman, geb. Priebatsch, wurde am 15. Juli 1863 als Tochter einer Buchhändlerfamilie in Breslau geboren. 1885 heiratete sie den Amtsrichter Julius Holzman, mit dem sie die Söhne Walter (1887-1918) und Max (1989-1941) hatte. Die Familie lebte zunächst in Obornik, ab 1905 in Posen. Agnes Holzmans Sohn Walter fiel 1918, noch im gleichen Jahr verstarb ihr Mann. 1920 verließ sie Posen und zog darauf zu ihrer Schwester Wally Wertheim nach Magdeburg.

1923 wählte Agnes Holzman Jena als Wohnsitz, wo sie als Untermieterin im Hause von Margarete Czapski am Forstweg 23 ein zurückgezogenes Leben führte. Margarete Czapski (1866-1949), die Schwiegermutter ihres Sohnes Max und die Witwe des Abbe-Nachfolgers Siegfried Czapski (1861-1907), genoss in Jena hohes Ansehen. Ihr mutiges Auftreten verhinderte 1938 noch die vorgesehene Verhaftung und Abschiebung von Agnes Holzman. Auch die von den städtischen Behörden geforderte Kündigung des Wohnrechtes der alten Frau konnte sie erfolgreich zurückweisen.

Im Juli 1941 wurden Agnes Holzmans Sohn Max, im Oktober 1941 ihre Enkelin Marie in Litauen ermordet. Um sie zu schonen, verheimlichten ihr die Angehörigen diese Nachricht. Schließlich wurde die 79 Jahre alte Frau am 20. September 1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Hier starb sie nur wenig später am 4. Dezember. Ihre Schwester Wally nahm sich 1943 vor drohender Deportation das Leben.

Der Stolperstein für Agnes Holzman wurde am 23. Mai 2007 am Forstweg 23 gesetzt (Initiative des Jenaer Arbeitskreises Judentum).

Metallplatte mit Inschrift im Boden inmitten von Pflastersteinen eingelassen, daneben zwei rote Gerbera
Stolperstein für Agnes Holzman am Forstweg 23

Stolperstein Agnes Holzman
Stolperstein Agnes Holzman

Forstweg 23
07745 Jena
Deutschland

Forstweg 23
07745 Jena
Deutschland